Wegovy pen FDA-approved
Approved for weight management in adults and teens 12+, and to cut heart attack and stroke risk in adults with heart disease.
Home / Medication guides / Semaglutide
Medication guide · Prices checked October 29, 2026
sem-uh-GLOO-tide
Semaglutide is the active ingredient in Wegovy and Ozempic. If you want the FDA-approved brand, here is how to get a prescription filled and what it costs, plus the compounded route.
FDA-approved
Made by Novo Nordisk and reviewed by FDA. Cash prices are set by Novo and are the same at NovoCare, TrumpRx and the telehealth providers that fill through NovoCare. Medicare Part D members can get Wegovy for $50 a month through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge.
Approved for weight management in adults and teens 12+, and to cut heart attack and stroke risk in adults with heart disease.
The first GLP-1 pill for weight loss, approved Dec 2025. Take it each morning on an empty stomach and wait 30 minutes before eating.
Approved for type 2 diabetes, not weight loss. Doctors sometimes prescribe it off-label, but insurers rarely cover that.
Oral semaglutide for type 2 diabetes. It replaced Rybelsus in 2026, so a Rybelsus prescription needs rewriting.
| Seller | Sells | Price | Insurance | Go |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NovoCare PharmacyNovo Nordisk's own pharmacy | Wegovy pen and pill, Ozempic pen and pill | $149–$349/momanufacturer self-pay price; you need a prescription first | Self-pay only. Insured? Savings card from $25/mo | See NovoCare prices Official |
| TrumpRxFederal price site, pharmacy coupon | Wegovy pen and pill, Ozempic pen and pill | From $149/mosame Novo prices, used at a retail pharmacy | Self-pay only | See TrumpRx price Official |
| Sesame CareTelehealth, fills through NovoCare | Wegovy pen and pill, Ozempic | Care from $59/moplus medication at NovoCare prices; some Sesame pages list $99/mo care | Medication billed separately | Start with Sesame Paid link |
| Ivim HealthTelehealth membership | Wegovy pen and pill, Ozempic | $74.99/momembership; Wegovy pill $149–$299 at Novo pricing | Insurance or self-pay for the Wegovy pen | Start with Ivim Paid link |
| Found HealthTelehealth, insurance or cash | Wegovy pen and pill, Ozempic | From $650/moWegovy; Ozempic about $1,100; $100 off a first cash order | Works with insurance; free coverage check | Start with Found Paid link |
| WellorithmTelehealth, insurance route | Wegovy, Ozempic | $49/moservice fee; medication cost depends on your coverage | Yes, built for insured patients | Check coverage with Wellorithm Paid link |
| Oak LongevityTelehealth | Oral Wegovy (pill) | Not postedOak lists the Wegovy pill without a price | Not stated | See Oak Paid link |
| Gala GLP-1Telehealth, cash brand | Ozempic (Wegovy pill listed as coming soon) | From $1,299/mocash price; Gala says it checks your insurance | Checks coverage | See Gala Paid link |
| GobyMedsTelehealth, cash brand | Wegovy pen | $1,695/mocash price, medication included | No insurance; HSA/FSA accepted | See GobyMeds Paid link |
| BiltRxTelehealth, cash brand | Wegovy, Ozempic | $1,449–$1,849/moOzempic $1,449, Wegovy $1,849; consult and shipping extra | Not stated | See BiltRx Paid link |
Gala, GobyMeds and BiltRx charge cash prices far above what Novo charges for the same drug through NovoCare. If you are paying for brand-name semaglutide yourself, NovoCare, TrumpRx or a provider that fills through NovoCare costs less.
Not FDA-approved
Know what you're buying. Compounded medicines are mixed by a pharmacy for an individual prescription. FDA doesn't review them for safety, effectiveness or quality, and since the shortages ended in 2025 pharmacies can't routinely make copies of the brand drugs. Each provider below says a licensed clinician reviews you first, and none can promise a prescription.
Compounded semaglutide injections, billed monthly.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on biltrx.com
Compounded semaglutide in 3-month bundles, priced by dose.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on gobymeds.com
Compounded semaglutide; same price at every dose.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on tydewellness.com
Compounded semaglutide with a locked-in price.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on coivas.com
Compounded semaglutide; oral Wegovy also offered.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on oaklovesyou.com
Compounded semaglutide plus a required care membership.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on ivimhealth.com
Compounded semaglutide; medication, visits and shipping included.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on healthrx.com
Compounded semaglutide plans, with insurance used for visits where it applies.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on joinfound.com
Compounded semaglutide, one flat price for all doses.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on galaglp1.com
Compounded semaglutide; same price at every dose.
Paid link · price checked October 29, 2026 on wellorithm.com
Side by side
| Brand-name (Wegovy, Ozempic) | Compounded semaglutide | |
|---|---|---|
| FDA-approved | Yes, for the uses on the label | No. FDA does not review compounded drugs |
| Who makes it | Novo Nordisk | A state-licensed compounding pharmacy chosen by the provider |
| Cash price | $149–$349/mo (Wegovy), $349–$499/mo (Ozempic pen) | About $81–$247/mo, often with multi-month plans |
| Insurance | Sometimes covered; $25 savings card if it is | Not covered; HSA/FSA often accepted |
| Forms | Weekly pen or daily pill | Mostly vials you draw up with a syringe |
| Dose price | Rises at higher pen doses for Ozempic; Wegovy pen flat at $349 | Many providers charge one price at every dose |
Decide in three questions
Then brand-name is usually cheapest: as little as $25 a month with the savings card. See brand-name sellers.
The Wegovy pill starts at $149 a month and the pen at $199 for two fills through NovoCare or TrumpRx. A provider such as Sesame or Ivim can write the prescription.
Compounded semaglutide runs $81–$247 a month. Compare what is included, because consults, memberships and shipping change the total. See compounded options.
Questions
Semaglutide is the active ingredient in Wegovy and Ozempic. Wegovy is the brand approved for weight management; Ozempic is approved for type 2 diabetes. Compounded semaglutide uses the same ingredient name but is not an FDA-approved product.
With insurance coverage, the Wegovy savings card can bring it to $25 a month. Paying cash, the Wegovy pill starts at $149 a month and the pen costs $199 for the first two fills at starting doses, then $349, through NovoCare Pharmacy or TrumpRx.
Compounding pharmacies can still make semaglutide for a specific patient when a clinician documents a medical need, but since the shortage ended in 2025 FDA does not allow routine copies of the brand drug. FDA has also warned against salt forms such as semaglutide sodium.
Starting July 1, 2026, the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge lets eligible Part D members get Wegovy for $50 a month when it is prescribed for weight management. People who already have GLP-1 coverage for diabetes are excluded.
Prices come from each seller's own page on October 29, 2026. Prices change often, so check the total before you pay.